Average Pest Control Cost in 2026: Monthly, Quarterly and One-Time Prices

Generally, published sources put the average pest control cost between $150 and $250 per visit. They disagree considerably on the details, however.

Angi, for example, reports an average near $172 within a range of $50 to $500. HomeGuide puts one-time extermination at $100 to $600 instead.

Homeyou lands close to Angi, reporting a 2026 range of $93 to $562 with an average near $187.

Yet those figures cannot all describe the same job. Rather than average them into a single number, this guide shows each range and explains what drives the gap.

That approach is deliberate. A blended national figure would look authoritative while telling you nothing about your house.

Your actual pest control cost depends on four variables. Service frequency comes first, then pest type, then home size, then region.

Get those four straight and a quote stops being a mystery. Skip them and you are comparing sales pitches.

This page is the hub for our pricing research. Specific pests have their own detailed guides, linked throughout.

Start with the summary table below if you only have a minute.

Pest Control Cost at a Glance

Here is what published sources report for the most common scenarios.

ServicePublished rangeSource
One-time visit (general)$100–$600HomeGuide
One-time visit, 1,500 sq ft$108–$261Angi
Overall average per serviceAbout $172Angi
Monthly plan, per visit$40–$75HomeGuide
Annual plan total$300–$900HomeGuide
Initial inspection and treatment$150–$300HomeGuide
Inspection fee alone$150–$450Angi

Two things stand out immediately.

First, the ongoing plan costs less per visit than a one-time call. HomeGuide reports monthly service at $40 to $75 per visit, well below its $100 to $600 one-time range.

Second, the initial visit costs more than the maintenance visits that follow. That first appointment includes a full inspection plus a heavier treatment.

Angi’s inspection figure sits notably higher than HomeGuide’s initial-visit figure. The two are measuring different things, though.

Angi describes a standalone inspection fee, which many companies waive when you buy treatment. HomeGuide describes a bundled first visit that already includes treatment.

Because of that difference, do not read the two numbers as a contradiction. Ask any company whether its inspection is free, waived with service, or billed separately.

Our guide on what a free pest inspection actually costs you covers how those offers work in practice.

Why Published Averages Disagree So Much

Four cost guides published within eight months of each other report four different averages.

SourceReported averageReported rangeDate
AngiAbout $172$50–$5002026
HomeyouAbout $187$93–$562Apr 2026
HomeGuideNot stated$100–$600 one-timeJan 2026
HomeGuide (annual)Not stated$300–$900 per yearJan 2026

The spread is not sloppiness. Each source samples a different mix of jobs.

A dataset heavy on ant and spider calls produces a low average. One that includes rodent exclusion and bed bug work produces a much higher figure.

Regional mix matters too. A sample weighted toward the Southeast reflects higher pest pressure than one weighted toward the upper Midwest.

Service type is the third variable. Some guides average one-time visits only, while others fold recurring plans into the same figure.

None of these methodological choices is wrong. They simply are not comparable.

So what should you do with this? Use the range, ignore the average.

If a quote falls between roughly $100 and $600 for a standard one-time general treatment, it is inside published norms. Outside that band, ask why.

A quote far below the range usually signals a narrower scope than you assumed. One far above usually signals a specialty pest or extensive exclusion work.

Either way, the number itself is less informative than the scope behind it.

Pest Control Cost by Service Frequency

Overall, frequency is the single biggest lever on your annual spend.

Plan typePer visitAnnual total
One-time$100–$600Same
Monthly$40–$75Roughly $480–$900
Annual plan (any frequency)Varies$300–$900

Notably, all three ranges above come from HomeGuide’s January 2026 reporting.

Notice how the per-visit price drops when you commit. Companies price predictability, so a scheduled route is cheaper to serve than a one-off call.

Monthly service suits severe or recurring problems, whereas quarterly service suits prevention in moderate-pressure areas.

HomeGuide notes that professionals typically recommend monthly, bi-monthly or quarterly service depending on location, pest type and infestation extent. Hot, humid and rainy climates often need more frequent visits.

That geographic point deserves weight. A Florida homeowner and a Colorado homeowner genuinely need different schedules.

Angi frames the decision similarly. A one-off issue like a wasp nest needs no ongoing plan, while persistent problems may warrant quarterly or monthly service.

Before signing any recurring agreement, run the arithmetic yourself.

Four one-time visits at $200 each cost $800 per year. A quarterly plan at $550 per year is cheaper, assuming the coverage matches.

That comparison only works when the covered pest list is identical. We cover the full math in is a quarterly pest control plan worth it.

What the Initial Visit Actually Costs

Almost every recurring plan charges more for the first appointment.

HomeGuide reports an initial inspection and treatment fee of $150 to $300, separate from the $40 to $75 monthly visits that follow.

That first visit is genuinely different work. It covers a full property inspection, identification, and a heavier initial application.

Some companies waive the fee entirely when you sign an annual contract. Others reduce it for quarterly or monthly commitments.

Ask about it directly, because the initial fee changes your first-year total substantially.

Consider two quotes at the same monthly rate. One charges $300 upfront and the other charges nothing.

Over twelve months, that is a $300 difference invisible in the headline price. Sales presentations rarely lead with it.

Angi separately reports inspection fees of $150 to $450, noting that some companies waive them with treatment.

The higher end of that range typically applies to specialized inspections rather than general pest calls. Termite reports for real estate transactions are the common example.

Terminix advertises free inspections while Orkin does not, according to multiple published comparisons. We cover that difference in our Terminix versus Orkin comparison.

Always confirm whether your inspection is free, credited toward treatment, or billed regardless of outcome.

Pest Control Cost by Pest Type

Pest type drives price more than any factor except frequency.

PestPublished rangeSource
Ants (one-time, 2,000 sq ft)$200–$300HomeGuide
Ants (severe infestation)$800–$1,200HomeGuide
Cockroaches$100–$600+HomeGuide
Cockroaches$150–$500Today’s Homeowner
Fleas (one-time)$200–$400HomeGuide
Fleas (annual plan)$300–$600HomeGuide
Moths$150–$300Today’s Homeowner
Mosquitoes (per visit)$80–$150Today’s Homeowner
Mosquitoes (per season)$350–$1,000Today’s Homeowner
Carpet beetles (per visit)$200–$300HomeGuide

HomeGuide and Today’s Homeowner overlap closely on cockroaches, which is reassuring. Where sources converge, confidence rises.

Common household pests sit at the bottom of the range. HomeGuide notes that ants, spiders and roaches typically cost the least to treat and prevent.

Notably, severity multiplies the base price rather than adding to it. HomeGuide reports severe ant infestations at $800 to $1,200 for the same 2,000 square foot home that would otherwise cost $200 to $300.

That fourfold jump explains why early treatment saves money. Waiting rarely makes a pest problem cheaper.

Carpet beetle work can reach $900 for infestations severe enough to need multiple visits, per HomeGuide.

Mosquito service is priced seasonally rather than per incident. Budget for the season, not the visit.

Rodents, Bats and Wildlife Pricing

Wildlife work sits in its own pricing tier, mainly because of exclusion labor.

Similarly, Homeyou reports rat control from $119 to $744, with an average near $379. Meanwhile, HomeGuide puts bat removal at $250 to $600 for up to five bats.

Those figures cover trapping and removal, though exclusion is frequently quoted separately.

Exclusion means sealing the entry points that let animals in. Without it, new animals replace the trapped ones within days.

That distinction is the most expensive misunderstanding in rodent work. A $400 trapping quote and a $2,400 trapping-plus-exclusion quote are different services entirely.

Ask explicitly whether sealing is included. Then ask how many entry points the technician identified.

Additionally, attic contamination adds another layer. Insulation replacement after a rodent infestation is a separate contractor job with its own pricing.

Bat work carries a legal complication as well. Several states protect bat species and restrict removal to specific seasons.

Because of those restrictions, DIY bat removal is illegal in much of the country. Check your state wildlife agency before acting.

Our rodent exclusion cost guide breaks down trapping versus sealing in detail.

For most homeowners, wildlife is the category where getting three quotes matters most. Scope varies enormously between providers.

Bed Bugs and Termites: The Expensive Outliers

Notably, these two pests break every general pest control cost range on this page.

HomeGuide reports freezing bed bug treatment at $3 to $6 per square foot. Applied to a single 200 square foot bedroom, that is $600 to $1,200.

Whole-home treatment scales from there, while heat and chemical methods carry different pricing structures.

Similarly, termites sit in their own pricing tier. Published termite figures commonly run from several hundred dollars for spot work into the thousands for whole-structure treatment.

Furthermore, neither pest is typically included in a standard general plan. That exclusion catches homeowners off guard.

A quarterly plan covering 25 common pests will almost always exclude termites and bed bugs. Both require separate agreements and separate pricing.

Read the covered-pest list before assuming you are protected.

Why are these two so expensive? Because both hide in places that ordinary perimeter treatment cannot reach.

Bed bugs shelter inside furniture, walls and electrical outlets. Termites live inside structural wood or in soil outside the foundation.

Reaching them requires specialized equipment, multiple visits, or whole-structure treatment. Labor, not chemical, drives the price.

We cover both separately in our termite treatment cost guide and our bed bug treatment cost guide.

Budget for these as distinct projects rather than as line items on a general plan.

Pest Control Cost by Home Size

Home size matters too, though less than most homeowners expect for general pest work.

Angi prices its one-time range against a 1,500 square foot home, reporting $108 to $261 for that size.

HomeGuide uses a 2,000 square foot home as its reference for ant treatment, reporting $200 to $300.

Homeyou reports tiered pricing by property size. Its smaller-property tier runs $87 to $280 with an average near $164.

For medium properties, the same source reports $129 to $680 averaging around $318.

Larger properties reach considerably higher in that dataset, with advanced treatments spanning $288 to $3,683.

Notice that the ranges widen faster than the midpoints rise. Larger homes are not simply more expensive, they are less predictable.

The reason is that bigger properties have more entry points, more outbuildings and more varied pest pressure. Scope grows faster than square footage.

For general perimeter treatment, exterior linear footage matters more than interior area. A sprawling single-story home has more perimeter than a compact two-story of equal size.

Ask which measurement your quote uses. Interior square footage and exterior linear footage produce different numbers.

That single question resolves most confusing quote comparisons.

What a General Plan Usually Excludes

Overall, exclusions cause more disputes than pricing does.

A standard general plan typically covers ants, spiders, cockroaches, silverfish, earwigs and similar household insects.

It typically excludes termites, bed bugs, wildlife, mosquitoes and sometimes rodents. Carpenter ants and fire ants may also fall outside standard coverage.

Mosquito service is usually sold as an add-on rather than included. Published figures put seasonal mosquito programs at $350 to $1,000, per Today’s Homeowner.

Wildlife requires a licensed wildlife control operator in many states, which puts it outside a general pest license entirely.

Because coverage varies by company, the covered-pest list is the document that matters.

Request it in writing before signing. A verbal assurance that a plan covers “everything” is worth nothing when a technician declines to treat.

Watch for species-level exclusions too. Some plans cover house spiders while excluding black widow and brown recluse.

Follow-up visits deserve the same scrutiny. Some companies include one or two in the price, while others bill each separately.

German cockroach and bed bug work commonly requires multiple visits spaced weeks apart. If follow-ups are billed individually, your real total is much higher than the quoted figure.

Our guide to reading a pest control quote lists the specific line items to check.

Is a Recurring Plan Actually Cheaper?

Sometimes, and the arithmetic is simple enough to do yourself.

For example, take HomeGuide’s figures. Monthly service runs $40 to $75 per visit, which totals roughly $480 to $900 annually.

Additionally, its annual plan range is $300 to $900 and its one-time range $100 to $600.

Now compare scenarios. Two one-time visits per year at $250 each cost $500.

A quarterly plan at $550 covers four visits plus, usually, free re-treatment between visits. In that comparison, the plan wins on both price and coverage.

Reverse the assumptions, though, and the answer flips. One visit per year at $200 beats any annual plan on cost alone.

The honest rule is a threshold. If you need two or more treatments per year, a plan generally makes financial sense.

Below that threshold, one-time service is cheaper.

Two factors complicate this. First, the re-treatment guarantee has real value if pests return between visits.

Second, plans include an initial fee that one-time service does not. Add that $150 to $300 into your first-year comparison.

Prevention also has value that does not appear in a price table. Stopping an infestation before it establishes avoids the fourfold severity premium noted earlier.

Run the numbers for your actual pest pressure rather than for the average household.

How to Compare Three Quotes Properly

Three quotes only help when they describe the same work, so scope comes first.

Angi notes that most pest control companies provide free estimates, and recommends getting at least three unless the situation is an emergency.

Additionally, HomeGuide adds practical screening advice. It suggests hiring a licensed and bonded company with five or more years in business, and verifying licensing, insurance, workers’ compensation and bond guarantees.

Beyond that, compare six specific items on every written quote.

The pest or species identified comes first. A quote that does not name the pest cannot be evaluated.

Second, the treatment method and product. Third, the treated area with its measurement.

Fourth, the number of visits included and the cost of any additional visits. Fifth, the covered-pest list.

Sixth, the warranty or re-treatment terms and their duration.

Ask separately about the initial fee and the renewal price. Introductory rates commonly escalate at renewal.

Never compare a $200 general treatment against a $1,200 bed bug job as though they were alternatives. Those services address different problems.

If two companies recommend substantially different treatments, ask each to explain the evidence behind the recommendation. A third inspection is worthwhile when the gap is large.

Finally, check reviews for the specific branch serving your address rather than the corporate page.

A Note on Source Quality

Not every pricing guide online is neutral, and readers deserve to know which is which.

Overall, two categories exist. The first is home-services aggregators such as Angi, HomeGuide, Today’s Homeowner and Homeyou.

Generally, these publish cost data drawn from member-reported jobs or market research. They earn revenue from lead referral, which is a commercial interest, though not a direct stake in any single price.

The second category is pest control companies publishing their own cost guides. Several rank well for pricing keywords.

Those guides can contain accurate figures. A company writing about what pest control should cost has an obvious incentive, however.

We have restricted the figures on this page to the first category. Where we cite a company-published source anywhere on this site, we flag the commercial relationship at the point of citation.

Watch for one more pattern. Some pricing pages cite impressive-sounding datasets without linking to them or describing the sampling method.

A methodology you cannot inspect is not a methodology. Treat those figures cautiously, including ours.

Everything on this page names its source and its date. You can check every number yourself.

That standard should be the minimum, not a differentiator. Unfortunately, in this category, it still is one.

Our Methodology

We do not operate a proprietary quote database, and we publish no invented averages.

Every figure above comes from a named published source, dated where the source provided a date.

Specifically, we reviewed pricing reporting from Angi, HomeGuide, Today’s Homeowner and Homeyou. All four are home-services publishers rather than pest control operators.

Where sources disagree, we present the disagreement rather than averaging it away. The comparison table near the top of this page exists specifically to expose those conflicts.

Furthermore, we do not blend figures from different sources into a single national number. Combining datasets with different sampling methods produces a statistic that looks precise and means nothing.

State and city figures appear on this site only where published, source-specific estimates exist. We do not generate regional averages by adjusting a national figure.

We accept no payment from pest control companies for placement, ranking or favorable coverage. Where we earn affiliate or referral revenue, we disclose it on the page.

Several limitations apply.

Pricing is quote-based across this industry, so no published figure matches every household. Some cited figures date from 2025 and may have moved.

Aggregator data also skews toward homeowners who request quotes online. People who accept the first quote likely pay more than these ranges suggest.

This page is reviewed and updated every six months, with the date shown at the top.

If you have a recent written quote, submit it to our pricing research. Reader documents improve future updates.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the average pest control cost in 2026?

Angi reports about $172 on average, with a range of $50 to $500. Homeyou reports a similar average near $187.

HomeGuide does not publish a single average, listing $100 to $600 for one-time work instead.

How much is pest control per month?

HomeGuide reports $40 to $75 per visit for monthly service. An initial inspection and treatment fee of $150 to $300 usually applies first.

How much does an annual pest control plan cost?

HomeGuide reports $300 to $900 per year. Coverage varies substantially, so compare the covered-pest list rather than the headline price.

Is one-time pest control cheaper than a plan?

Only if you need a single visit. Two or more treatments per year generally make a recurring plan cheaper.

Are pest control inspections free?

Often, but not always. Angi reports standalone inspection fees of $150 to $450, with some companies waiving them when you buy treatment.

Does a general plan cover termites and bed bugs?

Usually not. Both typically require separate agreements at substantially higher prices.

Why do online cost guides disagree so much?

Because each samples a different mix of pests, regions and service types. Use the published ranges rather than any single average.

Final Thoughts

The honest answer to what pest control cost you should expect is a range, not a number.

For standard general treatment, published sources cluster between $100 and $600 for one-time work. Recurring plans land between $300 and $900 per year.

Specialty pests break those ranges entirely. Termites, bed bugs and wildlife exclusion belong in their own budget lines.

Before you compare prices, compare scope. The pest identified, the area treated, the visits included and the warranty terms explain almost every quote difference you will encounter.

A quote inside the published range is not automatically fair. One outside it is not automatically wrong.

What matters is whether the proposed work fits the problem you actually have.

Get three written quotes, ask what each excludes, and check the branch reviews for your ZIP code. That process protects you better than any national average, including the ones on this page.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top